Harkin elected after marathon count in Castlebar

Marian Harkin has been returned to the European Parliament after a ballot recheck in the Midlands North West constituency.

The Independent candidate is the final MEP to be elected in Ireland and also the last declared winner across Europe.

It means that out of 11 Irish seats - four have been filled by Fine Gael, 3 by Sinn Féin, 1 by Fianna Fáil and 3 by Independents.

After four days of counting and 18 hours of a recheck, Fianna Fáil's Pat 'The Cope' Gallagher conceded defeat at 4am this morning, securing Marian Harkin's election to the European Parliament.

Hers is the 11th and Final seat to be filled in Ireland.

Harkin was the fourth candidate to get over the line in Midlands North West - joining Independent Luke 'Ming' Flanagan, Fine Gael's Mairead McGuinness and Sinn Féin newcomer Matt Carthy.

In the South, Fine Gael's three candidate approach paid off with former GAA President Sean Kelly and Cork Senator Deirdre Clune both elected - coming in behind poll topper Brian Crowley and Sinn Féin's Liadh Ni Riada.

In Dublin, Sinn Féin's strong performance was underlined by an emphatic win by Lynn Boylan - who was joined after a recheck by Independent Nessa Childers and Fine Gael's Brian Hayes.

It means that out of 11 Irish seats - four have been filled by Fine Gael, three by Sinn Féin, one by Fianna Fáil and three by Independents.

In the local elections, Fine Gael's Mary Fayne took the last council seat in Ireland - excluding the re-run in Monaghan next week.



Most Read in Ireland