Govt confirms seven names of banking-inquiry team

The Government has confirmed the names of the seven TDs who will conduct the Oireachtas banking inquiry.

The inquiry, chaired by Labour's Ciaran Lynch, is expected to begin hearings in the autumn.

Fine Gael TDs Kieran O'Donnell, John-Paul Phelan and Eoghan Murphy will be members, as will Fianna Fáil's Michael Martin, Sinn Féin's Pearse Doherty, and Independent TD Stephen Donnelly.

They wll be joined by two senators, who are expected to be Trinity College finance professor Sean Barrett and Labour senator Aideen Hayden.

Most Read in Ireland