Watch: Former Masters champion accidentally hits ball during practice swing

Zach Johnson achieved an unwanted personal first at the Masters when he struck the ball from its tee by mistake during a practice swing.

Johnson, 42, won the green jacket in 2007, but it was a shade of red the US golfer went when he mistakenly made contact with his ball on the 13th hole.

“I have never seen that,” said one commentator.

The tip of Johnson’s driver hit the ball into the tee marker, at which point the ball ricocheted left a couple of feet in front.

Johnson reacted by looking in the direction of his group, comprised of Matt Kuchar and Ian Poulter, who appeared to confirm they were happy the shot was unintentional.

Rule 6.2b(5) on starting a hole states: “If a teed ball falls off the tee or is knocked off the tee by the player before the player has made a stroke at it, it may be re-teed anywhere in the teeing area without penalty.”

The mistake didn’t seem to put Johnson off though, making birdie once he was properly up and running before finishing his second round three over par in total.

“Yeah, that was a good one there. That’s a first,” he said afterwards. “I thought I had done it all but now I know I’ve done it all.

“I don’t think I could do it again if I even tried.”

- Press Association

Join the conversation - comment here

House Rules for comments - FAQ - Important message for commenters


Most Read in #Discover