Five ports to move to local governance

Legislation is being put in place so that five ports, designated as being of regional significance, can be transferred to local authority ownership at a future date.

The five ports are Drogheda, Dun Laoghaire, Galway, New Ross and Wicklow.

They are seen as playing an important role through tourism, leisure amenity, and regional trade.

The Government has decided that their future is best secured under local governance.

The Cabinet has approved the draft Harbours Amendment Bill 2014.

Most Read in Business

World Markets