Dijsselbloem voted president of eurozone finance ministers

The Dutch finance minister, Jeroen Dijsselbloem, has been elected as the new president of the group of euro area finance ministers.

Mr Dijsselbloem, 46, who has only been the Netherlands’ finance minister since November, will now face one of the world’s most daunting financial tasks - helping to lead the group of 17 EU countries that use the euro back to financial stability.

Some EU leaders feel the corner has been turned in the effort to save the euro currency.

Most Read in Business

World Markets