GAA Player of the Year nominations are revealed

The 2007 Vodafone GAA All-Star nominations in both hurling and football have been confirmed this evening by the GAA.

Kerry's dominance in this year's All Ireland football championship has been reflected in the list of the nominees for the Vodafone Player of the Year awards.

All three nominees in the football category - Colm Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan and Marc O'Se - are from the Kingdom, while Waterford lead the way with two nominees in the hurling equivalent.

Ken McGrath and Dan Shanahan have been rewarded for their outstanding contributions to a season that promised so much for the Deise, but ultimately ended in an All Ireland semi-final defeat to Limerick.

Kilkenny wing-back Tommy Walsh makes up the trio in the hurling category after a brilliant season epitomised by his tigerish display in the All-Ireland final win over Limerick.

Notably, Henry Shefflin and Kieran Donaghy, who scooped the overall awards in 2006, have both failed to make the shortlists this time around.

The announcement of the nominations for the Young Hurler and Footballer of the Year awards has also been made. Kerry newcomers Padraig Reidy and Killian Young are joined in the football category by young Laois star MJ Tierney.

Limerick's unexpected march through to the All-Ireland final has been rewarded with two nominations in the hurling section, where Mike Fitzgerald and Seamus Hickey will battle it out with All Ireland Under-21 winner John Lee from Galway.

The winners in all categories will be announced live on television at the Vodafone GAA All-Stars banquet at Dublin's City West Hotel on October 19.

The nominations in full are as follows:

Vodafone GAA All Star Hurler of the Year -

Ken McGrath (Waterford)

Dan Shanahan (Waterford)

Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)

Vodafone GAA All-Star Young Hurler of the Year -

Mike Fitzgerald (Limerick)

Seamus Hickey (Limerick)

John Lee (Galway)

Vodafone GAA All-Star Footballer of the Year -

Colm Cooper (Kerry)

Marc O'Se (Kerry)

Declan O'Sullivan (Kerry)

Vodafone GAA All-Star Young Footballer of the Year -

Padraig Reidy (Kerry)

Michael J Tierney (Laois)

Killian Young (Kerry)

Our archives start from January 2, 2001.