European Tour rename award in honour of Seve Ballesteros

The European Tour's Players' Player of the Year Award has been renamed The Seve Ballesteros Award.

The award is voted for by European Tour members at the end of each season and will now carry the name of five-time major winner Ballesteros, who died in 2011.

Seve Ballesteros

The first recipient of the award is Sweden's Henrik Stenson, who was the overwhelming winner of the 2016 vote after winning the Open Championship at Royal Troon and the Race to Dubai for the second time in four years.

Stenson said: "Having won the Players' Player of the Year award once before I know how special this award is. I am truly honoured to be the first player to receive it after it has been renamed The Seve Ballesteros Award.

"Seve was one of my idols and an icon of the game, which makes it that much more special to receive this from my peers."


Join the conversation - comment here

House Rules for comments - FAQ - Important message for commenters

Most Read in Sport