Champion 15 teams announced

Details of the Champion 15 teams for the Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Cups for 2010 have been announced today.

The Christy Ring Cup team is unsurprisingly dominated by eventual winners Westmeath and beaten finalists Kerry, who have seven players included between them.

The Westmeath playes to be honoured as midfielder Joe Clarke, Paul Greville, who scored 1-2 in the final, and defenders Andrew Mitchell and Eoin Price.

Kerry's trio includes full-back Tom Murnane, free-taker Darragh O'Connell and his half-forward colleague Michael Boyle.

Wicklow's Andy O'Brien and Jonathan O'Neill have also earned spots in the team, while fellow semi-finalists Kildare have Neil Ó Muineacháin and Paudie Reidy on board.

In the Nicky Rackard Cup team, champions Amagh lead the way with four award winners - Paul McCormack, Barry Breen and Paul and Ryan Gaffney.

Goalkeeper John Joe Burke and Mark Mythen and Richard O'Connell represent beaten finalists London in the line-up, with players from Sligo, Roscommon, Monaghan, Fingal, Louth and Tyrone also honoured.

Meanwhile, this year's champions Longford make up a third of the Lory Meagher Cup team. Longford beaten Donegal 1-20 to 1-12 in the final, with top scorer Gareth Ghee (1-9) leading the way.

Ghee and his team-mates Joe O'Brien, Declan Toner, Sean Browne and Martin Coyle have made the line-up, along with defenders Mark Patton and Ardal McDermott and goalkeeper Paul O'Brien from beaten finalists Donegal.

The team is completed by players from Fermanagh, Cavan, Leitrim and South Down, and there is a notable award win for Warwickshire's Eamon Hansberry, who played in defence and midfield during the competition.

The awards will be presented to the winners at a ceremony in Croke Park on Saturday, December 18.


Tom Murnane (Kerry)

Michael Boyle (Kerry)

Darragh O'Connell (Kerry)

Andy O'Brien (Wicklow)

Jonathan O'Neill (Wicklow)

Derek McConn (Mayo)

Kevin Hinphey (Derry)

Nicky Horan (Meath)

Paul Braniff (Down)

Neil Ó Muineacháin (Kildare)

Paudie Reidy (Kildare)

Andrew Mitchell (Westmeath)

Joe Clarke (Westmeath)

Paul Greville (Westmeath)

Eoin Price (Westmeath)


Paul McCormack (Armagh)

Barry Breen (Armagh)

Paul Gaffney (Amagh)

Ryan Gaffney (Armagh)

Alan Cawley (Sligo)

Ronan Cox (Sligo)

Padraic Dolan (Roscommon)

Colm Moran (Roscommon)

Paul Murphy (Monaghan)

Michael Cussen (Fingal)

David Dunne (Louth)

Damien Maguire (Tyrone)

John Joe Burke (London)

Mark Mythen (London)

Richard O'Connell (London)


Gareth McGhee (Longford)

Joe O'Brien (Longford)

Declan Toner (Longford)

Seán Browne (Longford)

Martin Coyle (Longford)

Mark Patton (Donegal)

Ardal McDermott (Donegal)

Paul O'Brien (Donegal)

Mark Slevin (Fermanagh)

Barry Smith (Fermanagh)

Cormac Neligan (Cavan)

Eamon Hansberry (Warwickshire)

Michael Poniard (Leitrim)

Keith Connolly (Leitrim)

James McGrath (South Down)

  • Click to stay connected with more stories like this
  • Sign up here to receive news by email. Once per day, no spam.

Most Read in Sport